THE KILLING HOUR

Lisa Gardner, Author . Bantam $23.95 (336p) ISBN 978-0-553-80252-8

A cold case grows hot again in Gardner's sixth high-octane page-turner, a romantic thriller that features rookie FBI agent Kimberly Quincy. Kimberly is the daughter of Pierce Quincy, former FBI profiler turned PI, last seen in The Next Accident. She's a tough, troubled young woman still recovering from the murders of her mother and sister six years earlier. During week nine of the FBI Academy's 16-week training program in Virginia, she discovers the body of a young woman who looks like her late sister. Since the corpse has been dumped on a secured Marine base, the Naval Criminal Investigation Service is in charge, but determined Kimberly soon takes a leave of absence so she can team up with Michael "Mac" McCormack, visiting Georgia Bureau of Investigations Special Agent, along with her father and his partner, Rainie Connor, to prevent another death. Mac receives taunting mail and cell phone messages ("planet dying... animals weeping... rivers screaming... can't you hear it? Heat kills") that lead him to suspect a serial eco-killer who last struck in Georgia three years earlier, leaving seven dead women and one survivor. Sparks fly between Kimberly and Mac as they rush to rescue the eco-killer's latest victim, Tina Krahn. Gardner offers riveting glimpses of Tina's struggle to survive in an environmentally hazardous locale. With tight plotting, an ear for forensic detail and a dash of romance, this is a truly satisfying sizzler in the tradition of Tess Gerritsen and Tami Hoag. Major ad/promo. (July 15)

Reviewed on: 06/30/2003
Release date: 07/01/2003
Show other formats
FORMATS
Mass Market Paperbound - 461 pages
Downloadable Audio - 978-0-7393-2979-5
Hardcover - 324 pages - 978-0-7528-5226-3
Hardcover - 11 pages - 978-1-4450-0208-8
Hardcover - 2 pages - 978-1-4450-0209-5
Analog Audio Cassette - 978-0-7393-0343-6
Peanut Press/Palm Reader - 978-0-553-89766-1
Hardcover - 696 pages - 978-0-7862-5867-3
Hardcover - 656 pages - 978-1-59413-029-8
Mass Market Paperbound - 431 pages - 978-0-553-59318-1
Mass Market Paperbound - 431 pages
Compact Disc - 978-0-7366-9376-9
Open Ebook - 1 pages - 978-1-299-09337-9
Paperback - 435 pages - 978-1-4091-1742-1
Hardcover - 978-1-84395-627-3
Hardcover - 320 pages - 978-0-7528-5227-0
X
Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Only $18.95/month for Digital Access
or $20.95 for Print+Digital Access!
X
Email Address

Password

Log In Lost Password

PW has integrated its print and digital subscriptions, offering exciting new benefits to subscribers, who are now entitled to both the print edition and the digital editions of PW (online or via our app). For instructions on how to set up your accout for digital access, click here. For more information, click here.

The part of the site you are trying to access is now available to subscribers only. Subscribers: to set up your digital subscription with the new system (if you have not done so already), click here. To subscribe, click here.

Email pw@pubservice.com with questions.

Not Registered? Click here.