Everything's Eventual (2002), King credits editing Best American "/>
 

Just After Sunset

Stephen King, Author
Stephen King, Author . Scribner $28 (367p) ISBN 978-1-4165-8408-7
Reviewed on: 09/01/2008
Release date: 11/01/2008
Compact Disc - 13 pages - 978-0-7435-7531-7
Paperback - 568 pages - 978-89-6017-413-9
Paperback - 344 pages - 978-4-16-770578-7
Hardcover - 353 pages - 978-0-340-97716-3
Paperback - 526 pages - 978-0-340-99299-9
Book - 978-1-84456-746-1
Paperback - 526 pages - 978-0-340-97718-7
Downloadable Audio - 978-1-4561-0890-8
Hardcover - 367 pages - 978-1-4391-1530-5
Hardcover - 609 pages - 978-1-4104-1060-3
Book - 978-0-7435-7532-4
Open Ebook - 384 pages - 978-1-4391-2548-9
Mass Market Paperbound - 539 pages
Paperback - 424 pages - 978-957-33-2706-6
Mass Market Paperbound - 539 pages - 978-1-4391-4491-6
Paperback - 607 pages - 978-1-59413-350-3
Prebound-Glued - 480 pages - 978-0-606-10725-9
Paperback - 330 pages - 978-4-16-770582-4
Paperback - 353 pages - 978-0-340-97717-0
Show other formats
FORMATS

In the introduction to his first collection of short fiction since Everything's Eventual (2002), King credits editing Best American Short Stories (2007) with reigniting his interest in the short form and inducing some of this volume's contents. Most of these 13 tales show him at the top of his game, molding the themes and set pieces of horror and suspense fiction into richly nuanced blends of fantasy and psychological realism. “The Things They Left Behind,” a powerful study of survivor guilt, is one of several supernatural disaster stories that evoke the horrors of 9/11. Like the crime thrillers “The Gingerbread Girl” and “A Very Tight Place,” both of which feature protagonists struggling with apparently insuperable threats to life, it is laced with moving ruminations on mortality that King attributes to his own well-publicized near-death experience. Even the smattering of genre-oriented works shows King trying out provocative new vehicles for his trademark thrills, notably “N.,” a creepy character study of an obsessive-compulsive that subtly blossoms into a tale of cosmic terror in the tradition of Arthur Machen and H.P. Lovecraft. Culled almost entirely from leading mainstream periodicals, these stories are a testament to the literary merits of the well-told macabre tale. (Nov.)

The Best Books, Emailed Every Week
Tip Sheet!
MORE BOOKS YOU'D LIKE
X